Springwell Running Club - Press Release 22nd October 2017

Garmin Mourne Skyline Mountain Trail Race

On Saturday 21st October the 4th annual Garmin Mourne Skyline MTR attracted athletes from 15 countries from around the world. The event organised by the NiRunning Team, was the final event of the 2017 Skyrunning UK National Series.

The full force of Storm Brian had not yet arrived but strong winds, mist, and the rain turning the paths to mud meant that the relentless climbing and technical terrain of the course made this year the most challenging yet. Covering 35km over nine peaks in the Mourne Mountains competitors were face with 3,370m of climbing

Local athletes Seamus Lynch and Ian Bailey from Newcastle AC set the pace from the start. In the first part of the race it was Seamus who led the pair but, with half the race completed Ian established a lead which he extended to win in 3.37.18. Ian finished 10 minutes later in second place with a time of 4.07.51. Ryan Stewart of Shettleston Harriers completed the top three in a time of 4.12.19.

In the ladies race, Shileen O’Kane from Lagan Valley AC was competing in her fourth Garmin Mourne Skyline MTR and her knowledge and experience was to make the difference as she won in 4.46.43. Megan Wilson, from Dark Peak Fell Runners had challenged Shileen throughout the race, until the final descent from Slieve Donard, finished second in a time of 5.00.09. Catherine Forsythe completed the ladies podium, crossing the line in 5.40.26.

Springwell RC had one member taking on this formidable challenge. Ross Armstrong finished in 86th, completing the course in 6.25.06.

Springwell RC’s Ross Armstrong in the Garmin Mourne Skyline MTR

Springwell RC’s Ross Armstrong in the Garmin Mourne Skyline MTR


Northern Ireland Masters Athletics Association

This year’s British & Irish Masters International Cross Country will be held in Northern Ireland this year, taking place on Saturday 18th November in Gransha Park. Selection for the team to represent Northern Ireland started on Saturday 21st October with the NIMAA Cross Country trials at the QUB playing fields in Belfast. The first race of the day was the Lady’s Masters and the Mens 65+ Masters Race over 6k. Springwell RC’s Ciara Toner continued her excellent form finishing 6th in a time of 24.02. In the Mens 65+ race Springwell RC’s Jim Platt finished 13th in 32.26

The Men’s Masters Race was over 8k and Springwell RC had five members taking part; 6th Steven McAlary 28.06, 23rd Chris Denton 29.47, 44th Alex Brennan 31.25, 56th Raymond McCann 33.50, 61st Gerry O’Doherty 35.15.


Saturdays Parkruns saw 49 of Springwell RC’s members taking part in Parkruns at five different venues with two personal bests being recorded. Judith McLaughlin completed her 100th Parkrun and Noel McAllister his 50th.

Queens - Stephen Smyth 29.23

Portrush - Bryan Edgar 21.51, Karen McLaughlin 22.39, Mervyn Thompson 24.08, Robert Workman 25.33, Noel McAllister 26.52, Jonno Johnson 26.55, Patricia Craig 27.02, Alanna Millar 27.11, Andrew Wilson 29.05, Kay Hack 29.20, Gary Kendall 29.24, Debbie Tutty 29.29, Jim Blee 29.31, Donna Costello 29.34, Margaret Edgar 30.52, Jack Blee 30.58, Deborah Archibald 31.16, Ali McAllister 31.30, Lynn Montgomery 31.31, Judith McLaughlin 31.52, Bob McLaughlin 31.53, Caitriona Mackle 32.28, Rachel Blee 32.32,
Fergal Mackle 32.37, Catherine Byers 32.50, Liadhan McAnena 32.53, Deborah Purdy 34.00,
Caoimhe Armstrong 36.26, Elaine Montgomery 37.38, Fiona Walls 38.29, Kenneth Bacon 38.30, Emer Thompson 53.32

Ormeau - Deborah Gilliland 19.50

Antrim - Hugh Deighan 24.09, Elizabeth Deighan 24.09

Limavady - Davy MacNicol 20.25, Fergus Thompson 20.43 PB, David Shiels 23.18, Lorraine Mullan 24.10, Catherine Shiels 25.03, Janet Patrick 25.19, Gary Moore 25.29, Catherine Pinkerton 25.33, Andrew Wilmot 25.57, Andrew Kincaid 28.41, Heather McLaughlin 28.58,
Karen Armstrong 29.20, Siobhan McIntyre 30.44 PB

Springwell RC’s Noel McAllister and Judith McLaughlin are congratulated by Mervyn Thompson on their milestones.

Springwell RC’s Noel McAllister and Judith McLaughlin are congratulated by Mervyn Thompson on their milestones.



newsletterPaul Irwin