Springwell Running Club - Press Release – 24th March 2019

Larne Half Marathon

Saturday’s Caterpillar Larne Half Marathon, hosted by Larne Athletic Club was the first race in the 2019 Pure Running Half Marathon Series.  Over 2000 athletes were greeted by perfect running conditions of sunshine from clear blue skies with a light breeze just to stop it becoming too warm.

Starting at 11.00am competitors followed the well established course and after the first winding their way through the town for the first two miles the field headed out along the Coast Road towards Ballygally where they climbed the country roads to Cairncastle.  The efforts of the climb were rewarded with a sweeping descent back to Ballygally and the race back along the Coast Road to the finish on the promenade at Larne Leisure Centre.

The Larne Half Marathon has always been a closely contested event and this year was no exception.  At the line it was Vincent McKenna (Acorns AC) who claimed victory in a time of 1.09.40 just 18 seconds in front of Gary Slevin (Foyle Valley AC) who crossed the line in 1.09.58.  John Black (North Belfast Harriers) completed the podium, crossing the line in 1.11.01.

In the ladies race it was the talented Laura Graham (Mourne Runners) who won in a time of 1.15.46 from Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers) in second with a time of 1.16.06.  Jessica Craig (North Down AC) was third in 1.19.25.

Ciara Toner setting a new club record at the Larne Half Marathon  (Photo – Richard McLaughlin)

Ciara Toner setting a new club record at the Larne Half Marathon

(Photo – Richard McLaughlin)

The fourth lady was Ciara Toner (Springwell RC) who, continuing a rich vein of form, took 2 minutes and 38 seconds of her own club record, which she set at the Waterside Half Marathon in September 2018, to finish in a new record time of 1.19.36.  Springwell RC also enjoyed some success in the age categories with David Jackson and Dave Sexton both third in their respective categories.

Springwell RC Results - 36th Ciara Toner 1.19.36 PB New Club Record, 51st David Jackson 1.21.57 (3rd M50), 54th Bryan Edgar 1.21.59 (4th M50), 56th Aaron Moffatt 1.22.13 PB, 59th Jimmy Stewart 1.22.17 PB, 62nd Dale Corbett 1.21.51, 105th David McAfee 1.26.24, 134th Hugh Boyle 1.28.07, 150th Alan Irwin 1.27.52 PB, 178th Maurice Walker 1.29.43, 191st Alister Jamison 1.29.59, 212th Dave Sexton 1.31.02 (3rd M55), 278th Karen McLaughlin 1.34.20, 291st Brian Merron 1.35.13, 414th Andrew Surgenor 1.40.02, 437th Martin Smith 1.40.20, 440th Catherine Pinkerton 1.39.55 PB, 442nd Gary Moore 1.39.57, 463rd Alison Rankin 1.41.27, 465th Keith Nixon 1.41.52, 539th Alan McKeeman 1.43.42, 555th Paul Quinn 1.43.36 PB, 645th Linda Gillen 1.46.19, 745th Carolyn Crawford 1.48.11 PB, 790th Sarah Dickinson 1.49.25 PB, 862nd Pauline Mullan 1.51.45, 872nd Michael Mulvenna 1.51.42, 926th Majella McAteer 1.53.19 PB, 942nd Paul Humphreys 1.54.45, 1006th Rosie Little 1.55.58, 1084th Laura – Jayne Watson 1.55.42, 1099th Claire Ramsey 1.57.39, 1103rd Alanna Millar 1.56.58, 1132nd Paul Dornan 1.56.59, 1143rd Liz Dowey 1.57.24 PB, 1169th David Campbell 1.58.26, 1191st Louise McDonnell 1.58.10, 1222nd Mary Brogan 1.59.13, 1355th Nicola Stewart 2.03.30 PB, 1457th Colin Connolly 2.05.44, 1497th Margaret Edgar 2.07.42, 1541st Rosin Walker 2.08.11 PB, 1672nd Roisin McCurry 2.14.24, 1719th Andrew Wilmot 2.16.03, 1722nd Nicola White 2.16.22, 1727th Deborah Archibald 2.16.22, 1761st Alison Duncan 2.18.34, 1770th Elaine Montgomery 2.18.34, 1791st Lorraine Abernethy 2.19.24, 1792nd Heather McLaughlin 2.19.49, 1802nd Noelle Watterson 2.20.42, 1803rd Emer Thompson 2.19.47 PB, 1821st Amanda Scott 2.20.41 PB, 1822nd Caitriona Mackle 2.22.33, 1823rd Kate McNicholl 2.22.34, 1856th Janet McNicholl 2.24.31, 2003rd Bernie Drain 2.35.26, 2015th Caoimhe Armstrong 2.39.11.


newsletterPaul Irwin