Springwell Running Club - Press Release – May 12th 2019

Termoneeny 5 & 10k

The place to be on Friday night was Gulladuff for the Termoneeny RC 5 & 10k, which produced racing of the highest standard, with Springwell RC earning their fair share of podium places and age category wins.

The cool, calm, overcast weather of Friday evening provided perfect running conditions on the challenging course as over 250 runners started the 10k event at 7.30pm.  The undulating course took the field into Knockloughrim where they turned left to follow an anticlockwise course through the country road back to Gulladuff and the finish at the Termoneeny Centre on the Quarry Road.

Another excellent performance from Eoin Hughes (Acorns AC) saw him win in a time of 31.32, over two minutes ahead of Jarlath Falls (Ballymena and Antrim AC) who crossed the line in second place with a time of 33.34.  Vincent McAlister (Acorns AC) completed the podium in 33.53.

Ciara Toner & Barry Mullan at the Termoneeny 10k (photo Noel Graham)

Ciara Toner & Barry Mullan at the Termoneeny 10k (photo Noel Graham)

In the ladies race Ciara Toner (Springwell RC) continued her excellent form with another victory in a new course record of 36.55, having led from start to finish.  Last year’s winner, Gemma McDonald (Ballycastle Runners) was second with a time of 37.47 with Helena Quinn (Termoneeny RC) third in 40.32.

Barry Mullan (Springwell RC) finished 9th in 37.45 to win the M40 category and Maurice Walker (Springwell RC) was 25th in 39.53 to place second in the M50 category.

Maurice Walker at the Termoneeny 10k (photo Richard McLaughlin)

Maurice Walker at the Termoneeny 10k (photo Richard McLaughlin)

In the 5k event Nicky Napier (Annadale Striders) won a closely contested race in 16.52, just ahead of Michael Kelly (Armagh AC) who finished in 17.03.  Sam Linton (Acorns AC) crossed the line in 17.21 for third place.

Heather Kelly (unattached) won the ladies race in 19.27 with Zara Surgenor (unattached) second in 20.08 and Martina Elliot (unattached) third with a time of 21.15.

Appearing in a Springwell RC vest for the first time, Judith Buchanan ran a personal best of 22.45 to finish 6th in the ladies race and win the F40 age category.  Janet Patrick (Springwell RC) won the F50 category with a time of 27.55.

Judith Buchanan wins the 5k F40 category in her first race for Springwell RC

Judith Buchanan wins the 5k F40 category in her first race for Springwell RC

Springwell RC Results

10k - 8th Ciara Toner 36.55 (1st Lady), 9th Barry Mullan 37.45 (1st M40), 17th Alister Jamison 38.37, 20th Alan Nevin 39.23 PB, 25th Maurice Walker 39.53 (2nd M50), 26th Warren McIlmoyle 40.09, 35th James McMullan 41.27, 37th David McGaffin 41.41, 66th Alison Rankin 43.59, 74th Paul Quinn 44.52 PB, 109th Ruari Bradley 47.34 PB, 111th Peter Butcher 47.31, 113th Michael Mulvenna 47.35, 115th Jim O’Hara 47.47 PB, 116th Paul Humphreys 48.08, 117th Pauline Mullan 48.10, 118th Claire Ramsey 48.13, 120th Adele Tomb 48.24, 125th Peter Jack 48.44, 159th David Campbell 53.05 PB, 209th Andrew Wilmot 57.23, 210th Anne Marie McKenna 57.41, 220th Lorraine Abernethy 58.40 PB, 225th Andrew Kincaid 58.52, 237th Elaine Montgomery 1.01.14, 238th Amanda Scott 1.01.16, 239th Emer Thompson 1.01.22, 241st Monica McClenaghan 1.01.53

5k - 26th Mervyn Thompson 21.56 (2nd M40), 36th Judith Buchanan 22.45 (1st F40) PB, 43rd Brian Patterson 23.26, 47th Pamela Howe 24.02, 104th Janet Patrick 27.55 (1st F50), 127th Aidan Mooney 30.02, 140th Shani Steenson 30.59, 141st Briege O’Kane 30.59, 167th Pauline Duke 32.38


newsletterPaul Irwin