Press Release 21st May 2017

Letterkenny Interfirms 5k

Letterkenny Athletic Club staged the 40th annual Hickey, Clarke & Langan Interfirms 5K road race on Tuesday, May 16th.

The interfirms is one of the longest established races in the north west and has always proved to be one of the most popular 5Ks in the Donegal Athletics Board Grand Prix Road Series which kicked off with the North West 10K in Letterkenny at the end of April

Springwell RC’s representatives had an excellent race with Thomas Moore 52nd in 18.55 and Catherine Pinkerton 110th with a personal best of 21.02.

Foyle Valley AC Wilkies 5 mile Road Race

On Wednesday 18th May, Foyle Valley AC hosted their annual Wilkies 5 mile classic road race, named after their late colleague Colm Wilkinson, with the event attracting over one hundred athletes.

Project Africa Athletics man Hilary Chirchir put in a convincing performance, easing to victory in 24.24.  Mark McKinstry (North Belfast Harriers) claimed second place in an excellent 25.15, before Chris McGuinness (Foyle Valley AC) crossed the line in 26.26 for third place.

Springwell RC at the Foyle Valley AC 5M (Photo Richard McLaughlin)

Springwell RC at the Foyle Valley AC 5M (Photo Richard McLaughlin)

In the ladies race, Springwell RC’s Ciara Toner continued with her excellent form securing first place in 29.45 (1st place).  Derry Track Club’s Marina Murphy took second place in 30.06 with Foyle Valley AC’s Martina McMullan completing the top three in 31:28.

Springwell RC’s Ciara Toner on her way to first place. (Photo Richard McLaughlin)

Springwell RC’s Ciara Toner on her way to first place. (Photo Richard McLaughlin)

Springwell RC claimed a number of age category wins with Amanda Connell 1st F35 in 33.14, Karen McLaughlin 1st F45 in 32.40 and Elizabeth Deighan 1st F55 in 40.02.  Philip Mullan was 2nd M50 in 31.10 and David Shiels 3rd M50 in 31.48.

Springwell RC Results – Andy Dowey 21st 29.39 PB, Ciara Toner 23rd 29.45 (1st F), Anthony Higginbottom 30th 31.07, Philip Mullan 31st 31.10 (2nd M50), David Shiels 35th 31.48 (3rd M50), Karen McLaughlin 40th 32.40 (1st F45), Amanda Connell 45th 33.14 (1st F35), Catherine Pinkerton 63rd 35.30 PB, Noel Harkin 66th 35.43, Kieran Cooke 75th 36.20, Catherine Shiels 76th 36.20, Martin Smith 78th 36.33, Hugh Deighan 87th 37.29, Julie Millican 97th 38.32, Elizabeth Deighan 109th 40.02 (1st F55), Jonathan Lynch 113th 41.48, Janet Patrick 114th 41.48

Newcastle AC Hill and Dale Series – Race 6

The Newcastle AC Hill and Dale Series moved to Race 6 with over 300 runners making their way to Newcastle for the ‘Slieve Donard Classic’ Race on Saturday 20th May. Apart from the start and finish along Main Street, once runners have entered Donard Park they are free to choose their own route to the summit of Slieve Donard, allowing for a tactical decision to be made between gradient and distance. The 5.5 mile course involves a challenging 850 meters of ascent to the checkpoint at the summit before the return to Newcastle.  Springwell RC’s Oisin Brennan had another excellent run finishing 31st in 1.10.45 and 2nd MJ.  Sister Molly continued her winning form, claiming 1st FJ in 1.30.04 and 122nd overall.  Colin Brennan was 86th in 1.22.07 and 7th M50. 


Conditions were almost perfect for Saturdays 250th Portrush parkrun, with only a slight headwind on the return leg trying to slow runners down.

Bryan and Margaret Edgar and Colin Moore were congratulated on reaching their 100th parkruns.

First finisher was Al Chapman in 19.06 and first lady was Karen McLaughlin in 20.16

This week 235 people ran, jogged and walked the course, of whom 42 were first timers and 51 recorded new Personal Bests. Representatives of 19 different clubs took part.


Portrush - James Stewart 19.45, Karen McLaughlin 20.16, Andy Deal 21.28, Nigel Armstrong 21.33, Jude Moore 22.07 PB, Gary Kendall 22.17, Mervyn Thompson 22.24, Jonno Johnson 22.27, Robert Workman 23.43, Pamela Howe 23.57, Andrew Wilson 24.14, Toni Donnelly 24.47, Roy Buchanan 24.57, Patricia Craig 25.01, Sarah Chestnutt 25.20, Donna Costello 25.53, Kay Hack 26.02, Peter Jack 26.04, Sophie Moore 26.05, Grainne Moore 26.05, Jack Blee 26.37, Carolyn Crawford 26.38, Bob McLaughlin 27.11, Elaine Montgomery 27.15, Jim Blee 27.30, Deborah Archibald 27.40, Camilla Long 27.44, Margaret Edgar 28.06, Bryan Edgar 28.06, Judith McLaughlin 28.07, Debbie Tutty 28.08, Ali McAllister 29.00, Rachel Blee 29.22, Andrew Wilmot 29.28, Amy Dobson 31.23, Bernie Drain 31.52, Aislinn Moore 32.09, Fergal Mackle 32.11, Paul Moore 32.12, Roisin Walker 32.16, Emma Birrell 32.18, Deborah Purdy 33.31, Fiona Walls 36.32, Emer Thompson 36.35, Molly Blee 46.58.

Limavady - Gary Moore 20.21, Fergus Thompson 21.12, Janet Patrick 24.12, Steven Miles 25.01, John Butcher 36.52

Ecos- Christopher Capper 30.52

Queens- Stephen Smyth 22.22

Ormeau- Rosanna Jack 24.25 PB

Ulster Schools Track and Field Championships

The 2017 Ulster Schools Track and Field Championships took place at the Antrim Forum on Friday 19th and Saturday 20th May and several members of Springwell RC’s junior section were competing for their schools.  Niamh Carr had an excellent event winning gold in the intermediate girls 800m with 4.47.17 and bronze in the 3000m with 10.36.85.  In the mini girls 800m Niamh McGarry won silver with 2.31.66.  Two more silver medals were won by Hermione Skuce in the intermediate girls 800m with 2.25.25 and Aine McKinney in the senior girls 800m with 2.27.47.

In the minor boys 800m Matthew Beveridge narrowly missed out on a medal with fourth place in 2.14.11 as did Andrew Gordon with 4th in the intermediate boys 1500m in 4.18.51.  In the junior boys 1500m Jack Culbertson finished 8th in 4.40.98. 

Rachel Brown (Ballymena Academy), Niamh Carr (Loreto College) and Zoe Thompson (Glenlola)

newsletterPaul Irwin